Subcommittee on Cultural Resources

The AASHTO Cultural Resources Subcommittee meets monthly to discuss the consideration of cultural resources (both historic and archaeological) in the development of transportation projects. The primary laws concerning cultural resources are the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, Section 106; and the Department of Transportation Act of 1966, Section 4(f). Topics recently discussed include historic preservation & planning, historic bridges, liaison positions with SHPOs, programmatic agreements. The subcommittee is composed of various practitioners who have diverse backgrounds in environmental policy, archaeology, and historic preservation.

Community and Cultural Concerns Membership

Committee Name:
Sort By:
Individual Name
Email Address
Agency Name
Member Type

Coming soon.

Coming soon.

Chair: Gail D’Avino, Georgia DOT
Vice Chair: Carolyn McAleer Holthoff, Oregon DOT
Research Coordinator: Tony Opperman, Virginia DOT
AASHTO Liaisons: Oscar Bermudez, Program Specialist for Environment