Subcommittee on Environmental Process

Each subcommittee supports COES by providing policy support related to their topic areas, increasing the capacity of members to deliver environmentally sound transportation projects, programs, and services, and create the knowledge foundation on which to base state-of-the-art impact analysis and mitigation planning, for current and future issues.

Together, these subcommittees monitor and actively participate in the development and consistent application of environmental laws, regulations, and guidance. They support the goals and guide/support the work of the Center for Environmental Excellence by AASHTO, the Environmental Technical Assistance Program (ETAP), and the Transportation Systems Security and Resilience (TSSR) Technical Assistance Program. In accordance with the current Subcommittee Research Road Maps, they continue to identify and prioritize environmental/transportation research and support priority research selection and funding.

Environmental Process Membership

Committee Name:
Subcommittee on Environmental Process
Sort By:
Individual Name
Email Address
Agency Name
Member Type
Presentations Speakers 
Resilient Transportation 2018: How Caltrans is Adapting  Brenda Powell-Jones
Senior Environmental Planner/Climate Change Policy Advisor
New Jersey Department of Transportation Extreme Weather Asset Management Pilot Study Elkins Green
Director of Environmental Resources

Coming soon.

Chair: Carol Lee Roalkvam, Washington State DOT
Vice Chair: Darlene Weaver, Oregon DOT
Research Coordinator: Carissa Watanabe, Utah DOT
AASHTO Liaisons: Sofie Rhoads, Associate Program Manager for Environment